Sea Side View - Rating 5/5

We arrived at the hotel which was very clean, the staff where exceptionally friendly and the checking in process was quick and easy. The room size was about adequate for our stay. We were given one of the sea side views which saw us looking out onto the beach. We were presented with complimentary tea and coffee with a kettle that was stocked each day. The bathroom was clean and quite large with both options of a bath of shower. The only negative about the room was the temperature of the shower could have been hotter. The water was warm/hot however we like a good hot shower. The water pressure was good though. The restaurant food was delicious and quite large meals. Only downside was the mint choc cheesecake was more chocolate and less mint. We chose to have the full Scottish breakfast which was fantastic - plenty of food and they offered substitutions. Overall the experience was exceptional and we would highly recommend the hotel for short or long stays.

Reviewer:Gillian M | Wed 19th Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We stayed in a seaview room for 2 nights and we couldn't have asked for anything more or better. Waking in the morning to see dolphins jumping was absolutely amazing.Great hotel would recommend to anyone and everyone.

Reviewer:Michelle G | Tue 4th Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay we got Seaview room. It was clean and good size. Staff very friendly and going extra mile especially young lady at the reception /bar on our arrival. We will come back

Reviewer:Colin T | Tue 28th Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


EXCEPTIONAL VIEW - Rating 5/5

STAFF WERE VERY ATTENTIVE AND THE ROOM WAS SMALL BUT VERY COMFORTABLE

Reviewer:linda k | Mon 20th Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Fantastic New Years Break - Rating 5/5

Would recommend this hotel.Staff really friendly, rooms clean and warm, food very good indeed.

Reviewer:Sandra P | Fri 3rd Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Hotel was perfect for our needs. Very central. Room very spacious with amazing sea view. Food in hotel was very good and well priced. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Jacqueline R | Fri 3rd Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Awesome sea views - Rating 5/5

Charming, welcomingstaff . Sea view from the bedroom was amazing. Cosy bar for an evening drink/meal. Breakfast was tasty with good quality produce. Would definitely recommend .

Reviewer:Janice n | Tue 26th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Overnight - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay.Breakfast was very sufficient.Staff pleasant and helpful.If returning to Stonehaven will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Maureen E | Wed 13th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic place to stay, lovely rooms, lovely breakfast. Even nicer staff. They couldn’t do enough for us. This was our trip to Scotland, all I can say is we will be back.

Reviewer:iren b | Tue 12th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


44Hotel review - Rating 5/5

Albeit only a 1 night stay we enjoyed every minute, made to feel welcome from the moment we entered the hotel, would certainly go back,

Reviewer:Kevin G | Tue 12th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


what a place - Rating 5/5

a little gem in the heart of stonehaven, amazing pub with a lot of delicious dishes, warm room with an amazing view.

Reviewer:Riccardo Z | Wed 25th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Tres bien- Rating 5/5

Hôtel tres propre, chaleureux et pratique en plein cœur de la ville. Tres bon accueil et personnel impeccable, mention spéciale pour Craig qui s'est montré entreprenant et plus que serviable alors que nous étions en difficulté. Excellent petit déjeuner également.

Reviewer:Evelyne A | Fri 23rd Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay. We couldn’t believe how quiet the hotel was! We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Francie T | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Tranquility- Rating 5/5

Beautiful place with lovely friendly staff. Room was clean fresh and comfortable. Breakfast was to die for.

Reviewer:Fiona O | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Perfect seaview room with big windows. - Rating 5/5

We were staying at Number44 Hotel for 2 nights in July.It was perfect. We got the wished seaview room. the staff was perfectly helpful with that. And the room was absolutly perfect. Clean, big windows to see the sea. In the restaurant good dinner and drinks. Thanks a lot

Reviewer:Isolde W | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely day in stonehaven - Rating 5/5

All was to our satisfaction.The hotel is located in the city center and easily tobe reached,seaside and Harbour nearby.surroundind invites to a walk.Dunnottar castle nearby.The hotel kitchen is very good, the staff fiery friendly

Reviewer:Regina G | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Chambre avec superbe vue sur la mer et le port - Rating 5/5

Très bien situé, gentillesse du personnel, excellent petit déjeuner, superbe vue sur la mer de notre lit. Auto garée facilement dans la rue. Les matelas sont durs en Ecosse !

Reviewer:Karina D | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Very very good hotel - Rating 5/5

The b&b was very very good, the stuff very kind and the Breakfast very good. The dinner is also good. Our room was clean and large with a modern bathroom. The Hotel is near the Beach and the Harbour, to the dunnottarcastle you Walk 20 minutes.

Reviewer:Sabine V | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Good location. Clean. Friendly welcome.

Reviewer:Jean A | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


School reunion - Rating 5/5

I had a great stay at the 44. My room was clean and tidy. The TV worked( I' ve had problems at other hotels). The food was really tasty, and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:MR ROBERT S | Wed 29th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely Hotel on the Beach - Rating 5/5

Room was clean and tidy. Check in was simple. Restaurant had really good food. We had breakfast included in our booking and it was well worth it!

Reviewer:Larry H | Tue 28th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Will visit stay again - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff and great service

Reviewer:elizabeth h | Tue 28th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Very nice hotel with astonishing views onto the ocean - Rating 5/5

We were two people and booked the rooms with seaview and this was totally worth it!Had a fantastic undisturbed view onto the ocean and the surrounding area and got woken up by the sunrise in the morning. What else can you as for?Room was not all too big if you would be staying with two people, but for one it was awesome!Great bar downstairs as well and the breakfast was great!Very well located in the heart of the town within walking distance to the harbour.Will definitely go back again if in the area.

Reviewer:David S | Mon 20th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Hotel reception very friendly on arrival Room had been upgraded for us and was very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and the evening meals are very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Certainly would stay here again.

Reviewer:Lorraine B | Fri 17th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Scottish Break in Paradise - Rating 5/5

Excellent location comfy bed tasty breakfast and welcoming staff.

Reviewer:Lesley P | Tue 14th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Very plesant stay great location beautiful sea view room, staff frindly and very helpfulcould do with a new bed/mattress in the room i stay in the mattress bit lumpy staff were helpful and put mattress topper on which helped a little, great food reasonably pricedall round good hotel for short stay.

Reviewer:Joanne G | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Perfect for short break - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 1 night. Very friendly staff. Room clean and sea view made it special. Breakfast was ideal and overall great value for money. I would recommend

Reviewer:Karen K | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Friendly and welcoming- Rating 5/5

I had to stay here with my son at the last minute...thanks to kyle and his super helpful and understanding manner, we had a good sleep in a spacious, clean and comfortable room. I would recommend .

Reviewer:Emma A | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Great Hogmanay and New Year break. - Rating 5/5

We found staff in all areas very friendly, helpful and cheery. The rooms were comfy, clean and had all we needed. Breakfast had plenty choices. We booked a Hogmanay meal and all enjoyed what we chose. The food was excellent. Great location for the town and walks to Dunnotter Castle and Woods. Definitely recommend and would return. Thank you.

Reviewer:Kaye M | Fri 4th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Very accommodating- Rating 4/5

Friendly and extremely helpfulLovely views straight out to seeAmazing walk to the harbour and Drummotor Castle...Food was tasty and generous portions....

Reviewer:Tracy G | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel and staff - Rating 5/5

Very good hotel, travelled with partner and two teenage sons. Hotel well positioned in Stonehaven, excellent bar and food. Service provided very good. Family enjoyed hotel, would use again.

Reviewer:Mark G | Wed 26th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent value and service. - Rating 5/5

I routinely use No.44 when visiting Stonehaven for work due to the convenience of being in the town centre and the comfort and service I receive. The restaurant is excellent for quality and service and the accommodation all you’ll ever need.

Reviewer:Wynne E | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

I would definitely stay at hotel 44 again staff friendly clean great breakfastview from window amazing right on sea front

Reviewer:Karen W | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Really Enjoyable - Rating 5/5

Great stay in a great location. Staff friendly and attentive.Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Morris A | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Seaviewroom - Rating 5/5

Unforgetable Seaviewroom, very friendly people, good meal

Reviewer:Anita B | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect location for some R&R - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Stonehaven.Great central location next to the beach and easy access to all the walks around Dunnattor.Breakfast in the morning was excellent - full Scottish.The restaurant was busy in the evenings but we managed to taste some of the new menu and were very happy with the result.Overall, a pleasant experience.

Reviewer:Russell B | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice room and location - Rating 4/5

The hotel is located Central in Stonehaven, and the rooms have a good standard. Easy check in, and helpfull staff. The bar at the hotel lacks a bit of charm for me, and the Lightning is Bright an not verry cozy. But the rest was Perfect.Best regardsE

Reviewer:Espen O | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms with sea views. Great breakfast options. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would love to have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Anne f | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Business in Stonehaven- Rating 4/5

I got an upgrade to a room with a sea view. The staff were nice but the food was continually over cooked and I complained at the time. I reported my concerns and they offered me a free meal on my next visit. The hotel is central for me reasonably priced and I will use it again

Reviewer:Peter C | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Two night stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with helpful staff. I had an issue with my room which was sorted. Lovely breakfast very helpful staff will certainly stay again

Reviewer:Steven D | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

We booked two rooms at Number 44 and, for the price we paid, were value for money. n the evening we had a meal in the bar, however we waited an eternity for each course to be served. To be fair, the staff were very apologetic and a reasonable discount was taken from our bill.

Reviewer:Gregor R | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at number 44Food and staff were top qualityWould definitely return and recommend

Reviewer:Annie J | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

This hotel is a great place to stay the staff are feiendly abd helpfulThe food is good i recommend the full breakfast

Reviewer:Alistair B | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastico soggiorno - Rating 5/5

Clean,near Dunnottar castle.The breakfast was really good, a cold buffet and in addition a cooked breakfast.We arrived at the hotel after 8pm and we had dinner at the pub in the hotel. We had a burger and a pint for 10 pounds, good value for money. The staff is really nice.

Reviewer:Elisa V | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Stonehaven Trip - Rating 4/5

We hadmost enjoyable 3 night stay at Number 44 Hotel &Bar.The rooms were lovely and very comfortable.The staff were all very helpful and friendly and we received excellent service from them.

Reviewer:Miss Margaret Mary D | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay! - Rating 4/5

Connie and Kyke were wonderful, food plentiful, and the bar was top notch. I particularly liked the location near the beach walk. Reason for not a 5 is that the sound carries, so Number 44 is not as quiet as some, but overall a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Mr. James A | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely people - Rating 4/5

The people were lovely and accommodating. I did have a problem with a bed that was wet ( urine) they gave us another room and said they had not charged us but when I got home the charged us twice

Reviewer:Joanne D | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Royal hotel Stonehaven - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay at the Royal hotel .Staff are excellent in every way , great breakfast ,room very comfortable ,would stay here again , well done all at Number 44.

Reviewer:Jim Mc g | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


great value- Rating 5/5

Although we arrived quite late in theevening we received a room overlooking the beach. The room was clean and well equipped!Food and drinks in the bar were great and so was the included breakfast!

Reviewer:Julia V | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Top - Rating 5/5

Top the position on the beach, top the view from the window, top the room and breakfast, everything is top

Reviewer:Roberto S | Fri 24th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un posto incantevole - Rating 4/5

Sono stata a ferragosto in questo hotelGentilezza e puliziaUna vista mozzafiato sul Mare...Mi resterà nel cuore

Reviewer:Sansone F | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great little hotel within walking distance of everything - Rating 5/5

Great breakfast and hotel. Room had a view of the ocean and sounds of the waves.

Reviewer:Erin G | Tue 14th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un paio di giorni- Rating 4/5

Tutto molto piacevole.Stanza, servizi e personale di buon livello.Piacevolissima sorpresa il pub annesso.

Reviewer:Francesco P | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un paio di giorni- Rating 4/5

Tutto molto piacevole.Stanza, servizi e personale di buon livello.Piacevolissima sorpresa il pub annesso.

Reviewer:Francesco P | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great views but no extra beds - Rating 4/5

Good foom with great view of the ocean,but no extra bed for our daughter. Not even an inflatable mattress,don't know why.An ok breakfast,had to ask the waitress to refill just about everything since it was empty, perhaps she was new..

Reviewer:Jennie S | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Good- Rating 4/5

Good well located hotel. Little but comfortable room, and scottish breakfast, for a good price. The only bad point was the thickness of the walls:we were disturbed in the morning by people leaving early in the corridor next to our room.

Reviewer:Julie R | Wed 8th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Fabulous place- Rating 5/5

Fabulous place to stay - nice clean room and the most amazing sea view - would definitely go back again

Reviewer:Sarah A | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Five stars for a posh hotel! - Rating 5/5

Number 44 is a family friendly rustic place, the staff is very helpful and kind. The hotel room was being kept spick and span all the time, hot water, clean and modernized showers, good breakfast, clean toilet, a nice little kettle with teabags and coffebags in the hotel room, clean and pleasant carpets,pretty wallper, well-closing windows, all well groomed and above all a safe place. Thanks a lot, we had a great time and couldn't have wished for more!

Reviewer:Reka B | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed at Number 44 hotel for just the one night.It was my boyfriends 21st which i previously mentioned when booking and we were surprised with a bottle of prossecco in the room along side a birthday card which was a nice touch.The staff were all really nice and helpful.The room itself was pretty basic but the bed was comfy and the room was cleab overall.However the bathroom was rather small with a terrible shower that didn't stay upright so you had to physically hold it in place when showering.The hot selection at breakfast was great with many different options however the continental breakfast did let it down slightly.Other than that we had a great time and thought it was a lovely hotel.

Reviewer:Charlotte G | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Our stay in Stonehaven - Rating 4/5

Staff very friendly and helpful, food was good and the accomodation was good

Reviewer:Patricia C | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Night away - Rating 4/5

We had a great night away with a lovely seaview room.A delicious breakfast with good service

Reviewer:Eleanor M | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Recommended Hotel - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Number 44, all the staff were friendly and helpful. Foodexcellent and good value. Would recommend this hotel and a good chance to see lovely "Stoney"

Reviewer:Ramond Stephens| Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay. - Rating 4/5

Location is perfect and the staff were really great. A bit pricy for the quality of the room and facilities. Clean room and a decent breakfast. Ideal.

Reviewer:Craig D | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great spot- Rating 5/5

Wonderful view from a very comfortable room.

Reviewer:Sarah M | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Number 44 Hotel & Bar - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel &service

Reviewer:Colin D | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfy, good breakfast - Rating 4/5

The bar and breakfast rooms are lovely. The bedrooms are a little tired although spotless. Breakfast was great.

Reviewer:Rachael G | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


number 44 - Rating 5/5

We had a great week the hotel staff were great all very helpfull room was nice very clean food was great all freshly cooked, would stay again.

Reviewer:ELIZABETH t | Sat 30th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Short notice stay - Rating 4/5

Very helpful staff and pleasant, comfortable rooms.

Reviewer:u | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

Excellent rapport qualite prix

Reviewer:Patrick Van L | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Number 44 Stonehaven - Rating 4/5

The hotel is clean and comfortable with a nice ocean view. The room was quiet.The only negative was that the bed was very noisy. Rolling over or getting into bed made lots of noise.I was pleasantly suprised by the quality and variety of the food served in the in the restaurant/ bar. Excellent service by the staff. Overall a very pleasant stay in Stonehaven.

Reviewer:Edward P | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Good quality- Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night. Good quality for a fare rate.Breakfast was really good.

Reviewer:Hannelore L | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Simply Brilliant - Rating 5/5

I've stayed in many hotels on my photography trips over the years. This was my first visit to 44 and It really delivered;from the great location, the friendly staff, the very tasty menu, easy car parking, warm cosy bar and a very affordable price range. I'll definitely be visiting again.

Reviewer:jim D | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


night stay - Rating 4/5

was a good stay staff friendly food fine but next time if I visit think I will ask for smaller portions.room 16 was good just a wee recommendation two chairs against the wall a little table between them would make the room

Reviewer:Montgomery S | Sat 19th May 2018 | 1 year ago


visiting sister - Rating 4/5

Does what it says on the tin!!!. Stayed 1 night to visit my sister, staff very friendly easy check in, lovely breakfast in the morning, nice bar area , room compact and bijou nice shower,, clean and tidy !!

Reviewer:raymond b | Wed 9th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Value for money- Rating 4/5

I was catching up with old friends and booked for us to stay at number 44. The room was pleasant with great view to the sea. The bed was comfortable pillows not so good but I did sleep well. It has en suite although the shower was a tight squeeze for £40 each a night £80 a room per night was reasonable. The breakfast was better on the last day of our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor has been updated except the entrance to the hotel let's it down peeling wallpaper and dirty looking. I would stay here again.

Reviewer:Elaine M | Tue 8th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Would stay again - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel.The food in the bar was excellent and the sea view was worth paying the wee bit extra for.Staff were Friendly and attentive.

Reviewer:Karen Q | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Will stay again - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean room with great view ! Staff were brilliant. Had dinner in upstairs restaurant, had to wait a while because it was very busy at the time we went in. Food really lovely and freshly made. Not too expensive either.Only criticism is the staff have to go downstairs to the kitchen to collect the meals!Time to bring back "Dumb Waiter ". I was exhausted watching them!

Reviewer:Anne W | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Weekend stay- Rating 4/5

Found the staff very pleasant and helpfulBreakfast was lovely i even tried the haggis the sea view was fantasticThe only reason for giving a 4 star ⭐ rating was because of a single bed outside our door all weekend

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Weekend stay- Rating 4/5

Found the staff very pleasant and helpfulBreakfast was lovely i even tried the haggis the sea view was fantasticThe only reason for giving a 4 star ⭐ rating was because of a single bed outside our door all weekend

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Visiting friends - Rating 4/5

Good value for money. Well situated. Breakfast was a bit disorganised.

Reviewer:Susan E | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Staff - Rating 4/5

First impressions as we walked up to the roomwere not good. The hallway looked run down and dingy. This was completely opposite to the first impression made by Marcus the duty manager - very welcoming and easy to talk to.We loved the staff - I don't think we met anyone that worked there that was over the age of 30. It was great to be looked after by such a young team who seemed to be motivated, communicative and pleased to look after everyone well. Whoever employs them should be proud. Breakfasts were great and we ate in the bar on first night there and no complaints. When we checked out Marcus explained that the sea view rooms, we were in one of these, were undergoing maintenance and upgrade so I would say that this is a hotel to watch, especially if they retain their motivated staff.

Reviewer:Pauline W | Tue 13th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Hotel- Rating 4/5

Lovely staff.Lovely view

Reviewer:Rhona T | Tue 13th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Awesome seaview- Rating 4/5

The room is very small, the bathroom quite old, but the view (room 11) is awesome. The breakfast is decent. The wifi was bad.

Reviewer:Eugenio G | Sat 6th Jan 2018 | 2 years ago


Number 44 - Rating 4/5

Excellent food friendly staff

Reviewer:Karen S | Thu 4th Jan 2018 | 2 years ago


A great place to spend Hogmonay! - Rating 4/5

Number 44 is in a great location, righton the main St. but also backing on to the path along the beach.(not all the rooms have a sea view). Our room was a small double, and yes it was small but it was fine for the three nights we stayed. Breakfast was perfect to set you up for the day ahead. The staff are friendly and helpful. Marcus greeted us on arrival and was chatty and interested. Our stay was over the Hogmonay holiday and there was no disruption to service during this time. My only criticism would be the duvet could have done with being thicker. We were in Scotland in December! Possibly if we’d asked we would have got this changed but we didn’t ask. (our call!)We would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Margret A | Wed 3rd Jan 2018 | 2 years ago


Fireballing stay - Rating 4/5

Booked in for the new year fireballing and was happy with the accommodation, beds a little tired and lumpy, shower struggled to drain away (even after mentioning it) but overall location and cleanliness good. Car parking was 'on-street' but plentiful even over the festivities. No real ale in bar but plenty elsewhere in town. Breakfasts were good and plentiful, we had one evening meal which was good too.

Reviewer:John H | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 2 years ago


Brought back great times- Rating 5/5

I stayed here on a Wednesday night , I spent a lot of my childhood living up the street at 88 and found the Hotel really central clean friendly and good value. It was great to wake up to the brilliant sea view. I will definately stay here the next time I go to Stoney .

Reviewer:Steve S | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Clean and Friendly - Rating 5/5

The room was very nice and clean, with fantastic view of the sea. The shower had proper pressure and hot water which is always an important point. All in all a great stay!! Thank you

Reviewer:Marianne K | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


... - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff room very clean and tidy breakfast great. Great central location

Reviewer:Michael M | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Great.- Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight and ate here too. Food, room and staff were all great.

Reviewer:Stephen J | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Real Good acommodation and fantastic food !

Reviewer:Robert H | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Great little hotel in Stonehaven - Rating 5/5

Our only regret is we could only stay one night! Great room overlooking the sea plus a fabulous meal and awesome breakfast! Could not fault a thing, thanks for a fantastic stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Alyssa F | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

My daughter (25) and i (none of the above fitted that description) had a most enjoyable stay, whilst up for a family wedding close by, stay were smartly dressed and attentive. The room was freah and clean. The only down side was lack of plug sockets, awkward mirror, two of us trying to do hair make up etc. Breakfast was excellent with gluten free option for me, this still can prove a problem in some places. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay

Reviewer:Jacque T | Mon 11th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Amazing view of the sea - Rating 5/5

We came to see the North sea. In our room we had a amazing view of it.We stayed one night and we ate in the hotel restaurant. It was tasty. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Julie J | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a night. The room was really good:clean, tidy and with great views over the sea. The waves sound just next to you is very relaxing. And what about waking up with that great views? Amazing! The breakfast was delicious and the attention was kind too. 100% recommendable.

Reviewer:Estibaliz U | Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, a young man checked us in and was really polite and friendly, we ate in the bar downstairs. Food was delicious! Again staff lovely. Room comfy and clean. Unfortuntely we had to leave before breakfast as we had a long drive back to Bristol! Would reccomend and stay again

Reviewer:Emma S | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice "vintage"hotel with Espectacular views...

Reviewer:David Garcia T | Fri 18th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Iv stayed in this fantastic hotel on many occasions over the last 7-8 years and not once have I had a bad experience. Rooms are cleaned to a high standard, and are lovely decorated. The meals are freshly prepared to order and with first class staff. Breakfast is made with locally produced food. Thanks to the excellent and friendly staff I will definitely be back for more years to come.

Reviewer:rosalind F | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


We Will BACK!!! - Rating 5/5

Incredible place, wonderfull stay, super good food and super good beer...lovely lovely lovely people and very clean rooms.What say more....? we will back!!Thank you for everything

Reviewer:Francesco G | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stonehaven at 44 - Rating 5/5

We arrived just before check-in and were met by a friendly member of staff who made us feel instantly welcome. The rooms were clean and had the usual tea/coffee facilities. Great shower, plenty of towels and comfy beds. The full cooked Scottish breakfast was included in the price and plenty of other eating options. Would definitely go back. Thank you!

Reviewer:Maggie M | Sat 29th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Todo muy bien - Rating 5/5

Todo correcto:personal muy amable, limpieza, buena ubicación y buen desayuno.

Reviewer:MARIA ELENA MARTIN R | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Staff made our 4-day stay an absolute pleasure - Rating 5/5

Staff make or break an establishment and the Royal Number 44 has a great crew who go the extra mile. As we are elderly, our luggage was whisked up stairs. A jug of fresh milk -- no problem!The associated restaurant is also a bonus... we ended up having most of our meals there when we discovered how good the food was - especially the full Scottish breakfast (or home-made Scots porridge) which is included in the very reasonable tariff.The hotel is perfectly placed in the heart of town, especially useful for anyone attending the annual Folk Festival, as it is two doors own from the Town Hall, the main venue and across from the town square where many free events take placethrough the day.Stonehaven is a delightful, un-touristy Scottish seaside town but one of our fondest memories will be of the hotel we chose... The Royal!

Reviewer:James P | Tue 11th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Stonehaven. The view of the surf from our room was great. We had a wonderful visit even though it was brief.

Reviewer:Larry T | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A wee break- Rating 5/5

A really nice comfortable, clean &friendly country pub hotel. Our room looked onto the sea with stunning views. We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Karen M | Mon 8th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel, friendly staff, good food.Had room with sea vieuw!

Reviewer:IPM Van S | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed over at The Royal (No44) and was not disappointed. Nice wee room (cosy) and a good breakfast in the morning-pleasant staff as well. Cracking wee hotel well situated in the middle of Stonehaven!If I am heading that way again I will certainly use this hotel!

Reviewer:Lawrie H | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed over at The Royal (No44) and was not disappointed. Nice wee room (cosy) and a good breakfast in the morning-pleasant staff as well. Cracking wee hotel well situated in the middle of Stonehaven!If I am heading that way again I will certainly use this hotel!

Reviewer:Lawrie H | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Discovering Scotland - Rating 5/5

This Hotel is really nice, clean and cozy. Perfect location if you want to stay outside the big cities and close to Dunnotar Castle. We also had dinner and breakfast at the pub and it was really good.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Cecilia Maria Z | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

Staff nice hotel nice..food nice. .all in all...nice..would beback..

Reviewer:Scott K | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Surprise break - Rating 5/5

No faults. Particularly loved the fluffy towels. And the breakfast was first class too. Shame about the weather! Pity you had no control over that! Lovely cosy room helped to aid forgetfulness about the awful weather though.

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances J | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

hotel was good,staff friendly, food great, place was clean,and we had a sea view, no complaints at all,we would go there again

Reviewer:Kevin I | Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


The picturesque town - Rating 5/5

Pretty, landscaped town, great beach.Hotel cozy, clean with good food. Excellent soup!

Reviewer:Ján G | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


First class - Rating 5/5

First class in every aspect, great room price, all staff polite and friendly, dinning room, bar, room all very clean, food and drink excellent (especially breakfast) ,can't fault in any way - will definitely be returning and recommending.

Reviewer:Raymond R | Tue 27th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

An accomodation that is OK as it comes to the rooms but the breakfast and dinner was among the best we have ever had!Five stars to the kitchen.

Reviewer:Hakan Swedberg| Thu 15th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


value for money - Rating 5/5

very good value for moneystaff so friendly and helpfulwould recommend to my friendsbreakfast excellentlook forward to revisiting in the future

Reviewer:Fiona W | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our short break in Stonehaven. We were happy about our decision to book at The Royal Hotel. Very friendly staff. Room refurbished. Very good value per money. Restaurant can be recommended. Pub okay [Please offer more local beer :-)]. The beach is only a few steps away.

Reviewer:Ms Anke H | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Hotel - Rating 5/5

Hi we had a nicerelaxing stay roomvery clean and find the hotelstaff very friendly and helpful we will love to stay here again

Reviewer:Wendy| Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Another fantastic stay- Rating 5/5

Love this hotel friendly service ,lovely rooms , yummy breakfast all for great prices we will be back for another visit very soon wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Stonehaven xxx😃

Reviewer:Tara T | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay and evening meal - Rating 5/5

Accommodationand foodTop Class, also very friendly &helpful staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert H | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Number 44 Hotel & Bar review - Rating 5/5

I was a little worried about staying at this hotel when I arrived as from the outside it does not look great. What a pleasant surprise! The room was very clean and comfortable, food was delicious and staff exceedingly warm and friendly;thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rhonda W | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


13/08/2016 - Rating 5/5

Everything was exellent

Reviewer:Irina G | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


thanks - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay comfy bed and great shower.Fabbie breakfast!!

Reviewer:Karon J | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Super place to stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Number 44 Hotel and Bar on Saturday 30th July, 2016 in a small, but very clean twin room overlooking the bay. The beds were very comfortable and the linen was clean and crisp. We had a superb meal in the restaurant upstairs, which is nicely decorated in a contemporary style. The menu was quite varied, and service was excellent in all respects, the very attentive staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast served also in the restaurant was really good, full Scottish well cooked and served hot.To sum up, we thought the hotel was excellent value, well located in the town,smart, happy and helpful staff,(mainly young),providing all the traveller could wish for. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Richard B | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice! - Rating 5/5

Good facilities, nice &clean place.

Reviewer:Katja B | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Royal Hotel - Stonehaven - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful staff. Accommodation was good and clean and new. Easy access to town centre, beach and car park. Will definitely stay there again next time.

Reviewer:Mr. andrew b | Mon 4th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Royal Hotel Review - Rating 5/5

We had a very plesant stay. the rooms were clean and modern, the staff were cheerful and happy to help.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne G | Wed 26th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Weekend in Stonehaven - Rating 5/5

I would definitely recommend Number 44 for anyone visiting Stonehaven. Friendly service, comfortable well-appointed room and excellent breakfast. Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin M | Mon 15th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Hotel was furnished to a high standard and the staff were extremely helpful. We had a 2 year old with us and nothing was too much hassle for the staff.We will be back and would recommend to everyone

Response

Mr Bowman, it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your family and I hope you had a fantastic time at the Ceilidh. Thanks very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Kind Regards Lindsay

Reviewer:Mr. JamieB | Sun 22nd Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Satisfying hotel- Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night:rooms are small but clean, breakfast was really good;service O.K. Good quality for a fare rate. Thank you very much

Reviewer:Mr. Sascha M | Wed 19th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Quiet stay - Rating 4/5

Royal Hotel was a relaxing place. The breakfast was a great additive, showers and room were clean, service was good. Should you find something interesting to do in and around Stonehaven, Royal hotel is an affordable place to spend your time.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew L | Mon 17th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Hotel - Rating 4/5

Friendly (and amusing) staff. Central location in the town and a good spot to stay if golfing on the east coast. The new decor is a little too bling for me, would prefer the more traditional (ie the breakfast room) but each to their own...

Reviewer:Mr. Angus B | Mon 20th May 2013 | 6 years ago


touring Scotland - Rating 4/5

Very cosy room with a nice view on the sea at the back of the hotel. Also very clean. Breakfast was great. The staff was helpful and welcoming. Ideally located in the centre of the town.The room at the front was a bit noisy when the pub below shut

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine L | Sat 11th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Good value hotel - Rating 5/5

I can recommend the Royal Hotel Stonehaven. The welcome was good, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was excellent. I would certainly visit again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janice R | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 7 years ago


night away - Rating 4/5

Staff were very friendly

Reviewer:Mr. Gary M | Mon 18th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Hotel - Rating 4/5

clean &comfortable. Nice view of the Bay. Excellent cooked breakfast. Car parking a bit sparse but we managed.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon W | Tue 29th Jan 2013 | 7 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in the progress of being renovated and the new bedrooms are lovely. Breakfast was great and the staff were helpful. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Miss. Lindsay C | Mon 22nd Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


Good Memories - Rating 5/5

We so enjoyed our stay with you in June that we're feverishly picking wild chanterelle mushrooms to fund a two night stay with you in August. Thank you for the good memories, and the good memories to-be!

Reviewer:Mr. Richard L | Tue 24th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Birthday treat - Rating 4/5

all staff very friendly and well manneredfood good rooms good

Reviewer:Mr. James D | Tue 17th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Great Value - Rating 4/5

Nice room, good value and excellent staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Miles P | Tue 3rd Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


good hotel - Rating 4/5

nice stay .staff were friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Mr. Owen M | Mon 25th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect for our stay! Good food in the bar, friendly staff!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas K | Sun 10th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


st Mary's leg. - Rating 5/5

HI Royal hotelI was very pleased with my recent stay.I worked in the business myself (anchor guest house Dublin)for a few years.I would make one small suggestion. If possible (although possibly expensive) a room telephone system would be useful.I had to go to jubilee house to find a working public phone (in the rain).Every thing else is provided or within easy reach (apart from st Natachlan's horde).thanks again. I would gladly recommend your hotel to anyone, the queen herself would be pleased with the service.god blessdan.

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel L | Sun 10th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Thanks - Rating 3/5

The young lady that served us breakfast, even after we arrived late was extremely helpfull and very nice. The staff on the bar were also lovely.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris A | Wed 6th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

The Royal Hotel was very nice, clean and welcoming

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa M | Thu 31st May 2012 | 7 years ago


Good Value - Rating 5/5

This hotel is a great value in a great location.Not a lot of amenities but a lot of opportunities.The hotel restaurant is very good, the beach is right outside the door, great breakfast to start the day, and there are several tourist/historical attractions nearby.The only unpleasant part of the stay were our fellow guests, who unfortunately failed the class that taught them how to behave in public residences.But that is a comment on society, not on the hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher K | Sun 13th May 2012 | 7 years ago


nice place - Rating 5/5

nice rooms, free Wifi,very good breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Heike G | Wed 25th Apr 2012 | 8 years ago


Stonehaven Royal Hotel - Rating 4/5

Clean, central, reasonably-priced, friendly and pleasant staff.Beautiful harbour, stunning Dunnottar Castle.

Reviewer:Mr. Ciaran C | Tue 10th Apr 2012 | 8 years ago


Stay at Royal Hotel - Rating 5/5

Second time we have stayed here. The rooms are very comfortable with lovely decor. Fantastic breakfast and excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan S | Mon 26th Mar 2012 | 8 years ago


Hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent, helpful staff and the rooms where very goodvalue

Reviewer:Mr. Steve S | Wed 8th Feb 2012 | 8 years ago


Room with a view - Rating 4/5

Beautiful room view of the boardwalk and sea

Reviewer:Mr. Alan S | Sun 22nd Jan 2012 | 8 years ago


My Stay - Rating 3/5

This was my third stay at the Royal andalthough renorvations were progress during these visits the standard of accomodation was very good as was the food.I will be back again next year

Reviewer:Mr. John H | Mon 19th Dec 2011 | 8 years ago


Reccommended! - Rating 4/5

Clean, nice, small rooms, good beds, full breakfast, friendly service.

Reviewer:Mr. Jan Arve F | Tue 8th Nov 2011 | 8 years ago


Good value, clean and modern hotel! - Rating 5/5

Welcomed and orientated around hotel on arrival, staff friendly.Room was lovely and clean and decorated attractively.Seems to have been recently refurbished.Would stay again.

Reviewer:Miss. HilaryS | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 8 years ago


Weekend Stay - Rating 3/5

Nice room and view. Friendly staff. Renovations under way. Breakfast OK.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy B | Mon 26th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


recommended the royal hotel stonehaven - Rating 5/5

to often we have been disappointed with the hotels we have stayed in, all hype and promise, all hot air. At last we have found a real gem where the room quality,the level of cleanliness and the the staff were ALL top notch. Without any hasitation we would heartily recommend the royal hotel stonehaven

Reviewer:Leslie F | Sat 24th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


stay after dropping daughter off at aberdeen uni - Rating 3/5

hotel is very quiet, our room was spotless, bar lively, good breakfast, great value for money! Hotel seems to be three quarters of the way through a refurb will be excellent when reception area is finished.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher G | Wed 21st Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


stay after dropping daughter off at aberdeen uni - Rating 3/5

hotel is very quiet, our room was spotless, bar lively, good breakfast, great value for money! Hotel seems to be three quarters of the way through a refurb will be excellent when reception area is finished.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher G | Wed 21st Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


good stay - Rating 5/5

excellent could not fault it had an evening meal as well as breakfast top notch only down side was reception was being done up (that for the better) definitely use this hotel againthank you

Reviewer:Mr. Brian C | Tue 16th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

exellent stay warm&friendly staff

Reviewer:Stephen H | Sun 7th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Booked this hotel for 3 friends to stay overnight. The feedback i received about the Royal couldn't have been better. Room's are very clean, excellent breakfast, Michelle is an excellent hostess. The guy's were so impressed thay are talking about going back with their wife's

Reviewer:Mr. Richard L | Tue 26th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


- Rating 4/5

The rooms are small.But you have everything you need.Very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Wed 29th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


Review - Rating 4/5

Lovely refurbished room and en-suite. Friendly staff

Reviewer:Ms. Beatrice S | Tue 14th Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


our stay at the royal hotel - Rating 4/5

my wife and i enjoyed our stay at The Royal Hotel.the room was very good except for the problem of lack of hot water. the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. we would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Sat 28th May 2011 | 8 years ago


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Self Catering
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • City Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat

General Policy

100% of First Night will be charged on booking, remainder of stay is payable on arrival.

48 hours notice should be given for cancellations.



Non SMOKING hotel, you will be fined up to £100.00 if there is any suspicion/evidence of smoking in our rooms.



No Pets, except guide dogs